top of page

Smash 3.0.0 Update (Did I see it coming?)

So I've been playing a lot of the new update to Smash Ultimate. To normal gamers standards, there isn't much here. The usual nerfes and buffs to characters, 1 new character, 1 new stage some mii costumes and a stage builder mode isn't much to get hyped about for a DLC pack, but as a Smash Bros fan, its the norm. In fact this is a lot for us. Pity us please. I'm not going to go into too much detail here but this is how I got on with these nuggets of content daddy Sakurai has decided to bless us with.

Person 5 Content

So first of all, I'll start with the bulk of the new content. Joker. He plays like somewhere in between Sheik and Zero Suit Samus with less range but also very few moves that can KO. The key for users to master this agile school boy is through his persona, Arsene. In Persona 5, characters use "Personas" to aid them in battle, almost like if you could fight alongside your Pokemon. In smash this translates to Joker through a meter that gets filled up as you take and give damage. You can also counter to fill up the meter too. When the bar reaches its limit, Arsene will appear behind you and follow you around which powers up all of Jokers moves. However I will mention having a see-through figure constantly popping in and out of existence can be visually distracting at times but in return he gives Joker more KO-ing potential. I guess opponents would "never see it coming". I guess you could say it'd be there "Last Surprise"... I'm sorry.

Speaking of... One thing Persona fans have been waiting for is the music to be in Smash. The acid-jazz music, as it has been described was also a big selling point for me too. Persona 5's music is so good! To hear the funky orchestral ballad of "Last Surprise" and the amazing new remix of "Beneath The Mask" which they have somehow managed to speed up and make into a battle song, really goes to show how much Smash does to incorporate every game they pull from into Ultimate.

The stage isn't too bad either. Mementos is an island like stage with distractions such as trains and walls appearing at all 4 sides of the screen every now and then. Its a pretty nice and basic stage, without a crazy amount of shenanigans happening, and the visuals look great. Its everything I expected and less, which is a good thing. I'm looking at you Midgar!

Stage Builder

If you have had enough of fighting the most iconic faces in gaming history, why don't you spend some time battling your way around Smash's menu system and try and make a stage in the new stage builder mode. Menus aside though, the stage builder mode is easy enough to understand but also confusing in places. Once you've figured it out, making stages is doable and there's something satisfying about making a stage in handheld mode (which is recommended) then putting it to the test in on the big screen. Smash's online provides a "Shared Content" section where you can see other peoples stages, pictures, miis etc. The most popular section is filled with visually cool and funny looking stages. None of which actually are fun when played however. If your looking for fun, try out my stage. Type in the ID number in Smash's online mode. It looks weird but I promise there's a method to my madness! Try it out and let me know what you think!

Along with all the minor nerfes and buffs is the fact that most, if not all projectiles now take away less shield. This will stop campers, wimps and spammers from being their usual selves. Praise be Sakurai!

Mii Costumes

...

And that brings me to the end of my review of the 3.0.0 update! I did not buy the fighters pass, and I will do so. But in the meantime, I payed £5 for Joker and Mementos and I am very happy with my investment. Stage builder is free and so any fan of Smash or Persona, this is a must buy. For casual fans, stage builder should do you well, and for the rest of you. What are you doing? Go play Smash! Now!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page